Recent Bakes: aka Food Glorious Food

Hello lovely people,

So this one is a baking post because what goes better with beauty than food!!
We haven’t done a huge amount of baking in the last couple of months (probably to do with a Christmas food-baby!)

But we’re going to talk about a couple of things we’ve baked in the last few weeks, first PIZZA!!
hannah
So I made our own pizza bases and then I basically put every meat and cheese product I could find in the supermarket on mine!!
It was the easiest thing in the world to do, I was super lazy and picked up 2 bags of pizza dough mix that you just add water to. If you want to be really strict you can use this recipe here to make it from scratch. I used a basic passata as the tomato base but you can pretty much whatever you what on these. They turned out really well and were so easily to make, I even attempted a stuffed crust on the one which worked way better than I was expecting. As you can see from the photos it was so tempting a slice was stolen before the photo was taken!
Then I also made a baked cheesecake – so normally I would make what some people call a fridge cheesecake I think it’s more the English version where you don’t cook it and the folks across the pond like to bake theirs! Well to stop rambling I made a baked sticky toffee Cheesecake – Β it was fab and you can find the scrummy recipe here. It turned out so well – the only thing I would add is don’t be stingy with the hard toffees that go in the base, the recipe only says six but I probably put more like 12 in as 6 just didn’t seem to coat the base as much as I wanted and everyone loves a toffee base. The mixture sets really well and came out the tin easily.
IMG_4222
I will apologise for the picture, lets just say we were all so keen to eat it that I forgot to take a picture until after everyone had eaten a slice!!

Liv

So I have been trying to be good and not bake many sweet things and I’m currently cooking from the Lean in 15 book by Joe Wicks (its great!). I have however made my own muesli bars which I was really pleased at how they came out – much better than I was expecting! It’s a Kayla Itsines receipe that you can find here. I modified it slightly and put some extra honey in mine, along with dried apricots, raisins and almonds. Its really yummy and quite moist. I would recommend that you bake it in a really shallow baking tray as the thicker it is the drier it gets! It also lasts for ages!! I will definitely make this again as it was so easy and you can put in whatever you fancy! I might try some banana, date and chocolate chips next!
047eba086ffc41f72141c955ad617bb6
Thanks for reading, let us know any recipe suggestions we should try in the comments!
the cake faces
Leave a Reply

