New Makeup – Hannah’s Pick

Hey lovely people!

Hope you’ve all had a great week. So while Livvy and I are updating you on all our new makeup here comes the second part of mine. These are the bits I’ve bought for myself over the past couple of months:

Makeup Revolution Vivid Baked highlighter – Golden Lights 

I bought this highlighter from Superdrug and it’s beautiful. I really love Makeup Revolution products and this one does not disappoint, it rivals the high end highlighters and delivers a beautiful glow that lasts all day! I can apply a really light dusting over my cheekbones before work and 9 or 10 hours later I can still see it in the mirror when I check my makeup. The only thing I would say is it has some larger chunks of highlight, I don’t want to say glitter as that’s not what it is, but if you tap your brush before applying they fall off the brush and you are left with a really beautiful, blendable highlight. It’s an incredibly flattering colour as sometimes being super pale I can struggle with highlighters. They’re often too gold or orangey but this is subtle and that’s what I want (no glitterball cheekbones here please!), with such a fab price tag it’s a no brainer!

I Heart Makeup Blushing Hearts Triple Baked Blusher –  Peachy Pink Kisses

This is definitely a dupe for the Too Faced Sweethearts blush and what an amazing dupe. I got it in this gorgeous peachy shade, it’s got three shades all within the same tone packed together in cute heart packaging and looks more expensive than it is! I like the top lightest shade as a highlighter but sweep them all together and it gives this wonderful wash of colour and glow to the cheeks. Now this is not a matte blush it has a sheen/ shimmer to it so if you don’t like a shimmery blush step away now! But if you want a wonderful glowy blush for £4.99 then what’s not to like?

Rimmel Scandal Eyes Waterproof Kohl Liner – Nude

I got this eyeliner when I was hunting around Boots for something to make me look more awake and put on my lower lash line, but this is a seriously nice eyeliner! It’s so creamy and doesn’t tug at all at the skin when you put it on, I’m seriously tempted to go and buy it in all the other colours!

Physicians Formula Happy Booster Bronzer – Light Bronzer

So we can’t normally get Physicians Formula in the UK but I spotted this in TKMaxx and had to have it as I see so many Youtube beauty vloggers talking about how good the products are and I am not disappointed, this has become my go to bronzer. I reach for this every morning when I do my makeup. It’s buildable, a perfect colour for us pale girls and goes on a dream! The colour is a cool tone bronzer and doesn’t have any orange or gold in it which it perfect for my skin tone, it does also come in a darker shade when I’ve looked for it online. It includes a little pink ‘heart’ within the compact and that is a fantastic blush colour. I sometimes take a smaller blush brush and just pick up that colour as my blush. If you can get your hands on this then I highly recommend! I’ve had a hunt around and you can get it on Amazon.

Maybelline Dream Touch Blush 06

I’ve really been enjoying cream blushes recently and wanted to try Maybelline’s offering. It’s a lovely colour and a teeny tiny amount goes a long way. I’m just not sure I like the texture as much as the Clinque Chubby Stick (review here) and it definitely goes slightly patchy after a full days wear. But for a third of the price it’s not a bad option if you are wanting to try cream blushes but don’t want to spend too much.

Revlon Colourburst Lacquer Balm – Demure

I was desperate for this lip product for ages and the colour was a really good dupe for the more expensive Clarins Instant Light Lip Balm Perfector which I had in 02 Coral, I adored it, the perfect nude lipgloss/ balm just a truly holy grail product but for £18 I expected more product and it not to run out in less than 5 months, I cried a little when I realised I was at the bottom! But i wandered around Boots looking for a good substitue and this Revlon one in Demure was a really close colour and texture to the Clarins but for £10 cheaper, happy days! But oh no what they do not say anywhere about this product is that it’s got that horrible minty tingle in it! I hate that soooo much it irritates my lips and this is supposed to be a balm not a plumping product! Why oh why don’t they put anywhere that it’s got that horrible tingly stuff in it! So disappointed, Revlon please put when you’re putting mint in a product some of us truly hate it and I felt very misled and wasted my money. So if you like the minty, tingly feeling then this is for you, but I’m disappointed and I wish companies would tell you this because when you test a colour on your hand you can’t feel the tingles – note to self sniff hand when testing lipstick colours!

St Tropez Self Tan Sensitive

IMG_4337

I’m going to go against the norm here and say it, I hate fake tanning it’s boring I can’t reach all the bits of my back and I hate the smell, doesn’t seem to matter which brand I’ve used I smell like a digestive biscuit afterwards- not really the scent I was going for! 

This fake tan provides a lovely streak-free colour and doesn’t irritate. It looks really natural and fades evenly as it’s slightly coloured it’s easy to apply, I used a mitt and it went on smoothly and dried in about 10 minutes, no colour transferred onto my clothes so it’s not one you’re going to have to walk round like a zombie for ages. The product does still have that fake tan smell but I like the colour it gives. This another TKMaxx find for me but you can buy it online here

Right so you’re all now update to date with my latest makeup buys. Let me know if there’s anything you think I should try!

hannahthe cake faces

4 thoughts on “New Makeup – Hannah’s Pick

Leave a Reply

