Well Hello There, Pretty Nails!

Hello lovely people!

Sorry this post is a day late!

I bought the SensatioNail Gel Starter Kit over a year ago now and thought I would share my thoughts, the extra bits I’ve bought and my tips. So if that sounds good to you keep reading on!

22f1c403f35a48d64b5d0867e8d52fa5
I bought the Raspberry Wine Gel Starter Kit and the Removal Kit initally, the kits contained everything you need to get started:

  • SensatioNail Pro 3060 LED Lamp
  • Gel Primer
  • Gel Cleanser
  • Lint Free Wipes
  • Sample Size Raspberry Wine Gel Colour
  • Gel Base & Top Coat (Clear)
  • Nail File
  • Manicure Stick

Removal Kit

  • Gel Polish Remover
  • Foil Wraps
  • 4 Way Buffer Block
  • Removal Tool & Bag

I also got a full size Gel Colour due to an offer and chose Plum Couture.Β You can find all this on the SensatioNail website here.

I’ve done manicures and pedicures on myself, my sisters and my mum so have had a bit of practise. It does take a little while to complete the application and you definitely don’t want to rush to get the best results! Plus the more you do the faster and better you get πŸ™‚
Now for the fun bit – applying!! Let me take you through how I did mine, I used the nail shields this time due to having only recently done gel and I like to use them every other time to protect my nails more.

1. Prepped my nails so they were completely free of polish, cuticles pushed back and lightly buffed.

2b78121ca675aa9374325c25676121ba
2. Picked the sizes of nail shields closest to each nail, placed on the nail, rubbed upwards to stick them with as fewer air bubbles as possible and if need be used the manicure stick to press any bubbles out.

10ec346298796afa2bdf9c6a2fad6f65
Tip – It says on the packet to just file away the excess, however I find that with some nail sizes you can get two uses out of one shield – simply cut it in half! It doesn’t fit as well round the cuticle but I’m frugal and don’t like to waste anything!!

3. Now onto colour, I chose the colour Plum Couture this time, its a super pretty, slightly shimmery, deep dark purple. I do two coats of colour, curing in between each coat. If you don’t use the shields you would use the gel primer and the clear base coat instead before moving onto colour.


Tip – The first coat shrinks back so the edge isn’t very neat. This is corrected when you do a second coat as it doesn’t shrink as much. I find it easier to paint my fingers first and cure on each had and then do my thumbs.

4. Applied a coat of the clear Base & Top Coat and cured. I always do this step a little too quickly, if you take your time you won’t get gel around your nails, the result will be much better and will last longer as the nail and colour is sealed.


5. To finish off I used the gel cleanser with a lint free wipe to remove the sticky layer off the top of my nails – they’re now completely done!!

d793f40fe28f03012cf908bd20338954
If you like doing your nails and regularly paint your nails (I admit mine are very very rarely unpainted!) then I would definitely recommend getting the SensatioNail kits. They’re actually really good value for money as although the bottles included are sample size they still last for roughly 10 manicures. The colour polishes are quite expensive (Β£15) but they last a long time and there’s often offers on the SensatioNail website and in Boots.

Let me know in the comments below what you think of the SensatioNail kit and if you’ve got one!

Thanks for reading Β πŸ™‚

 

Liv

the cake faces
11 thoughts on “Well Hello There, Pretty Nails!

    • thecakefaces says:

      I would definitely recommend πŸ™‚ you can use normal nail polish with the kit I’ve got too! After you’ve done the base coat of gel wipe off the sticky layer with the cleanser and then paint your nails normally, make sure they’re completely dry and then carry on with the gel top coat! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

