Liquid, Kohl, Gel…Eyeliner Review!

 

Hello lovely people!

So today’s post is all about eyeliner!
img_4648

There are four main types of eyeliners around; gel, felt tip, liquid and pencil. We’re going to share with you our favourites for each category.

Gel;

Liv’s Pick – Rimmel Gel Eyeliner “Black”
img_9488-2

I really like this gel eyeliner, it becomes very soft and quite easy to apply. It comes with a little brush to apply, however I use a Real Techniques one (see our blog post here for more info!). I have to admit Gel eyeliner isn’t my favourite – I’m much more of a felt tip eyeliner kinda gal!

Hannah’s Pick – Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner “Black”
img_4645

I bought this because of Jaclyn Hill on YouTube. I didn’t really like or want a gel liner before I saw her using this one and saying she wouldn’t use anything else as it was amazing. She was not lying! It’s a really creamy formula that goes on easily with a little brush and even I can get a decent cat-eye flick using this!

Felt Tip;

Liv’s Pick – Soap & Glory Supercat Eyeliner “Black”
img_9490

This is my favourite. Its amazing –  the best felt tip eyeliner I have used. It’s really pigmented and glides on super easily! The other great thing about this product is it lasts for ages which is great. I would highly recommend this.

Hannah’s Pick – Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner “Black”
img_4644

This is a lovely felt tip liner- this is probably my most used liner (besides using black eyeshadow as liner) it’s easy to use and dries quickly so no smudges. It lasts really well and I just find this the easier type of liner to use – Liv and I have similar tastes when it comes to the types of eyeliner we love.

Liquid;

Liv’s Pick –
I don’t really use liquid eyeliner as I never seem to get quite the result I want, however I have had a Collection 2000 one in the past and have been pleased as it was very very pigmented so you always get a solid black line. The good thing about liquid’s is that they tend to set and stay put. I have to admit I don’t currently own a liquid liner, apologies for the lack of photo!!

Hannah’s Pick – Natural Collection Liquid Liner “Black”
img_4646

I’ve used so many liquid eyeliners over the years and in all honesty the best one I’ve found is this cheap as chips Natural Collection one from Boots. It has got this fab teeny tiny brush that makes getting right in alongside your lashes a doddle and its a really nice formula. It’s highly pigmented, doesn’t smudge and no flakes after a whole day! Love this and can’t recommend it enough. But I’m sorry to say when hunting around on Boots’ website it appears they no longer make this!!!!! Noooooo! But I’ve found these No7 and NYX ones that have the same brush! Let me know if you’ve tried these as I’m going to have to find a replacement for my fave Natural Collection one!

Pencil;

Liv’s Pick – Rimmel Kohl Eyeliner / Urban Decay 24hr Glide On Eyeliner
img_9491

Again I don’t tend to use pencil – not really sure why! I am on the hunt for a nude / white eyeliner, however I do have two Rimmel Kohl eyeliners, one in “Black” and one in “Panama”. They are nice, however my favourite eyeliner would be the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide On Eyeliner. Its so creamy and smooth, it glides on really easily and I’ve never had a pencil last as long! I’m not really sure why I didn’t replace it when it finally ran out…it might be added to my ‘to buy’ list!!

Hannah’s Pick – Rimmel Scandal Eyes Waterproof Kohl Liner “Nude”
img_4647

I use a pencil to line my lower lashes and it tends to be with a brown or nude pencil – so I’m going to recommend the this really c
reamy, gel type pencil that Rimmel do. I’ve currently got the nude and it’s such a lovely formula so I’d like to buy it in black to try on my lash line as I think it would work really well. I’ve also been enjoying my two new ones from e.l.f. that are both highly pigmented and not scratchy at all on the eye!

So there you have it! We’d love to hear about your favourites or any recommendations you have!

Thanks for reading!

the cake faces

 

Leave a Reply

