Butternut Squash Pie..??!!

Hello lovely people!

Thought I’d share this Butternut Squash Pie I made the other day. I meant to make a pumpkin pie around Halloween but didn’t get round to getting some pumpkin puree in time before it was out of stock in the shops – super annoying! I did stumble across an alternative though and have been pleasantly surprised with the result!

img_1036

I used the recipe from Taste of Home, I made my own pastry case (because its nice and easy) and then followed the recipe which was amazingly simple and easy!

I started off by chopping the squash in half and baking it for an hour and a half, I then scooped the flesh out and mashed it (as smoothly as possible!) ready to add to the mixture as in the recipe.

While the squash was baking I made my own pastry, using the half fat to flour ratio, and lined my loose-bottomed flan tin.

Once the mixture was ready I poured it into my pastry case and baked for about an hour in total. The recipe made so much filling mix I actually made two tiny versions in ramakins! I then waited for it to cool and piped cream on top, just to make it look more fancy! This was the finished result….

I have to admit I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out! Its got a really lovely texture and is sweet without being overly so. I’m not sure I like it more than a traditional pumpkin pie but its a really really great alternative – and I would happily make again!

Let me know what you think below, or if you’ve got any other alternatives!

Thanks for reading!

Liv

the cake faces

Check us out on Instagram here.

Check us out on BlogLovin’ here.

 

Leave a Reply

