Winter Skin Issues

Hey lovely people,

Firstly I’m sorry I haven’t been posting as much at the moment. I’m in the process of buying a house and it’s taking up quite a lot of my time at the moment.

Right onto the good stuff! I wanted to do a post about winter skin, I don’t know about anybody else but my skin goes a bit crazy in winter. It’s dry and flakey on my cheeks and goes over the top oily on my forehead. So recently I’ve been trying out some new techniques and products to try and combat this.

img_5729

Firstly I’ve been trying two different moisturisers; Clinque’s Moisture Surge and E45 cream. The Moisture Surge is lovely it makes my skin so soft and I have noticed an improvement through the day as my cheeks aren’t going as dry or flakey. I’ve been using it morning and night  for about a week. But on top of the evening I have also been using E45 cream just on my cheeks and it’s made a massive difference. My face is happier than a couple of weeks ago but I still think I could improve it more.

The next thing I have been trying is a different foundation. I’ve been having so many problems with my foundation separating on my face through the day. It doesn’t matter whether I set it with powder or spray or use primer or not. It’s so frustrating to look at your face in the mirror halfway through the day and your foundation is a greasy mess on your forehead and the foundation on my cheeks has split and has settled in my pores! So I’ve been trying the Clinque Superbalanced and Superbalanced Silk foundations. The silk version still seems to settle which is a shame as it contains SPF but the superbalanced is definitely lasting longer throughout the day and doesn’t split.

This is what my face looked like after a full days wear. I’m still trialling the difference methods of how I apply these from a brush to my beauty blender, but I am really enjoying a slightly dewy look so have stopped setting my face with powder as it just seems to make the ‘cakeyness’ worse!

Do you guys have this problem? What are your fave winter products or tips?

hannah

the cake faces

Check us out on Instagram here.

Check us out on BlogLovin’ here.

Leave a Reply

